Eastern Tiger Swallowtail Butterfly (Papilio glaucus)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Eastern Tiger Swallowtail Butterfly (Papilio glaucus)

This photo was taken through my kitchen window. If you look closely, you’ll see a Green Lynx spider lurking.

Larval hosts: Wild cherry (Prunus serotina), sweet bay (Magnolia virginiana), white ash (Fraxinus americana)

Learn: http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/wildflower/completebutterflydata.asp?id=6

Shown on a Florida Native Plant Carolina Redroot.

Photo of underside from Sept 2011 on Florida Native Plant Bidens alba:

###

5 comments
  1. I finally had a opportunity to film one on the tallgrass praire here in Iowa.
    It’s rare that I find then sitting still long enough to drop the tripod and get the camera trained on them.
    Beautiful creatures!

    • Loret said:

      Kevin….that’s why I opted to shoot through the window. I figured if I took the time to fun outside the beauty would be long gone. Have to strike while opportunity presents itself, even if there is a little haze. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Hahaha! Loret, I’m a through the window photographer too! Nice how we can do that! I enjoy your critter of the day!

    • Loret said:

      Thanks Brenda, I love photographing in my yard and it’s fun to share and learn more about them.

Leave a Reply

