Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis)

This is a male.

Cardinals eat mostly seeds and fruit. At my place favorites include Wings Sumac, Wax Myrtle and the seeds of Bidens Alba (Spanish Needles). They do supplment diet with insects and feed mostly insects to nestlings.

This guy was looking at my empty planter. Perhaps he is planting a seed?

Learn: http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/northern_cardinal/id

###

4 comments
    • Loret said:

      Thanks Charlie. Always happy when the ol’ point and shoot takes something identifiable. 🙂

  1. I hadn’t seen this “new” blog until today – where HAVE I been?! What a great idea – and execution! I think this is awesome.

    • Loret said:

      Thanks Cynthia. I wasn’t sure I could keep up with the daily posting, but I seem to do at least 5 out of 7 days. It is fun to photoograph all the new creatures and find out a bit more about them. I learn as I go! Comments such as yours keep me going. I really appreciate your taking the time.

Leave a Reply

