Earwig (Doru sp.)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Earwig (Doru sp.)

Can be pests, but also have MANY beneficial qualities: eliminate decaying organic materials from the environment. They eat algae, fungi, mosses, pollen as well as insects (aphids, caterpillars), spiders and mites both dead and live.

This one likely Lined Earwig (D. taeniatum), native to Florida.

Learn: http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/PESTNOTES/pn74102.html
http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/choate/dermaptera.pdf

Shown on Florida Native Plant: RATTLESNAKEMASTER (Eryngium yuccifolium)

My take: http://www.beautifulwildlifegarden.com/flipping-my-earwig.html

###

4 comments
  1. Interesting to see the earwig. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one around here, although I’m sure that we have them.

    • Loret said:

      Hi Cynthia,

      They usually lurk in dark, damp places. I was actually surprised to see these milling about in the sunshine.

  2. Love your posts on beneficial inspects for your garden. I am picking up a lot of great information.

    • Loret said:

      Thanks so much, Charlie! My fascination with insects started with early retirement in 2007. I cannot believe just how many species there are and I find something new in the garden every week, sometimes every day. I always try to learn about the benefits of each critter. Too many people are quick to kill without realizing that every species helps another along the way. My first 1/2 century may have been oblivious to the wonders of nature, but this half century is an all new worthwhile learning experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

