Sculptured Resin Bee (Megachile sculpturalis)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Sculptured Resin Bee (Megachile sculpturalis)

New to my buggy life list. And if you look closely, there is a crab spider below waiting for the opportunity to snare this BIG guy.

Introduced species from Asia. Apparently arriving in NC in 1994. Affect on native species is being monitored. They
usually nest in vacated tunnels constructed by carpenter bees or holes made in wood by other insects or in hollow stems of bamboo, small spaces between boards of buildings, etc. Since they don’t create any damage themselves they are not really a considered a pest to humans.

Learn: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/ent/notes/Other/note110.html
http://bugguide.net/node/view/15541

Shown on Florida Native Plant: WINGED LOOSESTRIFE (Lythrum alatum var. lanceolatum)

resinbeeLoosestrifeJune2015

###

1 comment
  1. Wow, what a bee – new to me. I’ll have to see if they are in my zone. Sometimes I see a really large bee (?) and it always stops me because I am like what is THAT? I have many carpenter bees in my garden so I know the difference.

Leave a Reply

