Florida Softshell Turtle (Apalone ferox)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Florida Softshell Turtle (Apalone ferox)

One of the freshwater aquatic turtles. It’s been a while since I’d seen *my* turtle. I didn’t get a close enough look to know if this is the same one that lived in my pond for the past couple of years, but I’m happy to know that any turtle has returned.

Diet: “snails and fish but these creatures have been known to eat waterfowl such as ducks and even small herons.”

Learn: http://srelherp.uga.edu/turtles/apafer.htm

Shown in pond with a backdrop of Florida Native Plant: White Waterlily

My take: https://floridawildlifegardentails.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/when-wildlife-moves-on/

###

Leave a Reply

