Bougainvillea Caterpillar Moth (Asciodes gordialis)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Bougainvillea Caterpillar Moth (Asciodes gordialis)

New to my buggy life list. My encounter was submitted and accepted to add this species to the Osceola county Florida checklist at butterfliesandmoths.com http://www.butterfliesandmoths.org/sighting_details/1103320

Came to light. Will be disappointed in my yard since I don’t have any of the non-native bougainvillea it needs for its young to feed on.

Larval hosts: Bougainvillea spp.

Learn: http://bugguide.net/node/view/343023

###

1 comment
  1. I guess I expected him or her to be more colorful – I mean, bougainvillea, you know. Still, amazing tiny creature and amazing find.

Leave a Reply

