Hyacinth Glider Dragonfly (Miathyria marcella)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Hyacinth Glider Dragonfly (Miathyria marcella)

New to my buggy life list, I may not be overly excited that it has appeared at my place. Seems as Water Hyacinth (Eichhornia crassipes), a prohibited invasive aquatic plant spread, so has the range of this beauty, arriving in the U.S. in 1950. So, I fear that somewhere in my neighborhood there is a population of the plants. I will be keeping a watchful eye on my pond although the datasheet indicates that it lays eggs on other aquatic plants. Hopefully my waterlilies caught their eye.

One of the Skimmers (Libellulidae)

Learn: http://www.odonatacentral.org/index.php/FieldGuideAction.get/id/47209

Shown on Florida Native Plant: BLUESTEM Grass (Andropogon sp.)
###

2 comments
  1. Great photo! You must be so patient to photograph these beautiful dragonflies and damselflies!

    • Loret said:

      Thanks Laura! I’d say it is more dumb luck than talent or patience. I use a point and shoot with a decent macro setting and quietly creep up on them, reach out and click. Right time, right place, right direction of the sun. For every one or two that come out good, there are 25-50 duds. Thank heavens for the digital age 🙂 appreciate your stopping by!

Leave a Reply

