Groundsel Plume Moth (Hellinsia balanotes)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Groundsel Plume Moth (Hellinsia balanotes)

plumemothnov2016

a.k.a groundsel stemboring moth; Baccharis Borer Plume Moth

Large by plume moth standards.  Larvae bore into stems.

Introduced into Australia to control B. halimifolia which is an invasive species on that continent.

My encounter was submitted and accepted to add this species to the Osceola county Florida checklist at butterfliesandmoths.org http://www.butterfliesandmoths.org/sighting_details/1109044

larval hosts: Groundsel Bush (Baccharis halimifolia), Great-Plains Falsewillow (Baccharis neglecta), Saltwater Falsewillow (Baccharis angustifolia)

Learn: http://bugguide.net/node/view/57435

###

2 comments
  1. Just want you to know how much I enjoy and look forward to your post. You have actually helped me to identify some species in my post. Appreciate what you are doing.

    • Loret said:

      Thanks so much for your kind comments. I am enjoying my retirement hobby and to hear it is helping others makes it even more rewarding. I often cannot believe how much I missed in my youth. Nature is fascinating and the internet has opened up so many worlds! Again, thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

