Gray Catbird (Dumetella carolinensis)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Gray Catbird (Dumetella carolinensis)

catbirdpalmettoblackberrygrapedec2016

Favors insects but does eat fruits and seeds. Secretive. Non-breeding in Florida.

Learn: www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Gray_Catbird/lifehistory

Shown on Florida Native Plant:  In SAW PALMETTO (Serenoa repens) scrub with MUSCADINE {GRAPE} (Vitis rotundifolia), SAWTOOTH BLACKBERRY; PENNSYLVANIA BLACKBERRY (Rubus pensilvanicus)

My take: https://floridawildlifegardentails.wordpress.com/2016/12/20/when-a-yard-cat-is-ok/

###

1 comment
  1. One of my favorites! We have a catbird lurking around our rental here in Florida – I always enjoy them. He let me see him yesterday! I have one in my garden up North, too – I have lots of insects, grapes, berries (esp Dogwood) for him/her. Once I was treated to a bird bath display – they really are beautiful birds!

Leave a Reply

