Whirlabout Skipper Butterfly (Polites vibex)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Whirlabout Skipper Butterfly (Polites vibex)

Polites vibex on Oakleaf Fleabane

Learn: https://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/wings/completeButterflyInfo.asp?id=67

Larval host: grasses

Shown on Florida Native Plant: OAKLEAF FLEABANE (Erigeron quercifolius)

My take: https://floridawildlifegardentails.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/skip-skip-skip-to-my-lou/

More photos from prior years:

From March 2014 Mating on grasses

From September 2015 on Bidens alba

Dorsal view from September 2013

September 2013 on Sedge

###

3 comments
  1. Guess what Loret? I have nice patches of Bidens Alba in my yard! (I know, that’s no surprise.) It always has bees on it and I’m noticing more and more butterflies. I will have to find a place to keep a patch of it just because it seems almost everything likes it!

    • Loret said:

      pollinator magnets! Most people suggest toward the back of your garden where there isn’t a lot of traffic to avoid the seeds being picked up and spread. It can be aggressive because of the sticking seeds feature, but I personally can’t get enough of it at my place 🙂

      • Oh yes, those sticky seeds just like Bidens at home up North — my dog would be covered in them! There’s a few rough edges where I could let it grow. I must, it seems a very important plant to so many things!

Leave a Reply

