Fiery Skipper Butterfly (Hylephila phyleus)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: Fiery Skipper Butterfly (Hylephila phyleus)

Many thanks to @AndyBugGuy for the identification of this female.

Learn: https://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/wings/completeButterflyInfo.asp?id=49

Larval host: grasses

Shown on Florida Native Plant: OAKLEAF FLEABANE (Erigeron quercifolius)

My take: https://floridawildlifegardentails.wordpress.com/2015/09/12/skip-skip-skip-to-my-lou/

More photos from prior years:

Fiery Skipper on Bidens alba

Fiery Skipper on Bidens alba

###

2 comments
  1. Cindy said:

    Skippers are slippery to ID.Thanks for this little beauty and super pics!

    • Loret said:

      Thanks. I’m lucky to have met @AndyBugGuy over at twitter for help. He’s a senior collections manager at the McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity, Florida Museum of Natural History at UF and his research focus is on skippers. I always ask him for confirmation on these confusing buggers. I thought I had a sachem…..so wrong again, keeping my batting average at 0! Still, I keep plugging away…Law of averages I’m bound to get one correct eventually. 😀

Leave a Reply

