American Alligator (Alligator mississippiensis)

CENTRAL FLORIDA CRITTER OF THE DAY: American Alligator (Alligator mississippiensis)

american alligator

This big guy (at least 6 foot) was walking around in my next door neighbor’s yard last evening looking along the fence line for a way out.  Drought + mating season = alligators showing up where they normally would not.  Not sure how this fella wound up in their fenced yard.

He was a tad camera shy and walked away in the opposite direction when I started taking photos.

He will likely move on because there is no water source at my neighbors…even my pond has gone dry.  Last time I saw an alligator in our yards was back in 2013 when we also were experiencing lack of rainfall.  At that time one found comfort in my pond for a brief time, but it wasn’t anywhere near the size of this guy who was scary big.

Learn: http://myfwc.com/media/152524/alligator-brochure.pdf

My take: https://floridawildlifegardentails.wordpress.com/2015/10/21/big-guns-in-the-wildlife-garden/

scary BIG!

###

3 comments
  1. Yikes! My fear is coming upon one and surprising it. Especially kayaking on one of the freshwater rivers. But perhaps my fear is unfounded. It’s pretty difficult not to see someone this big!!!

    • Loret said:

      It’s pretty difficult to surprise a gator. They are keenly aware of their surroundings and in the wild they’ll choose to move away from people unless provoked. I think most bad encounters we read about is because the gators have been have fed by people at some point and have become reliant. Thus when pets are left to their own devices they become fair game since the pets don’t understand to stay away.

      • Whew! That is a relief because my fear is to come upon on while kayaking all quiet like but now I know they will definitely see that big blob coming towards them down the river LOL

Leave a Reply

